Council of Directors

Council election results

Four members stood for election this year and the results are as follows:

Sally Clark  116 
Moya Moore  78 
Ben Kaye    36
Elizabeth Stevenson 31


Sally Clark has therefore been re-elected as a Director of Council for a further three years from 11 October.

About the Council

The Council is the governing body of the IIA and is responsible for managing the business and affairs of the IIA. Its role is strategic, while day-to-day management of the organisation is delegated to the Chief Executive. The Council is responsible for:

  • Determining the IIA's vision, values and goals
  • Determining the IIA's strategic objectives and strategic policies
  • Setting the pace for the IIA's current operations and future development
  • Ensuring that the IIA's organisational structure and capability are appropriate for implementing the chosen strategies
  • Monitoring and evaluating the implementation of strategies, policies and business plans
  • Ensuring that internal controls are effective
  • Ensuring accountability to members.   

Council is the ultimate decision making body in the IIA. It takes reports from the committees and the executive and makes decisions based on their input and recommendations.

Role profile for Council members 

Council members need to have the ability to work in a team and to critically analyse all matters. They need to have sound independent judgement. They should also have the ability to participate positively and constructively within meetings. 

It is essential that they are willing and able to put in the time required. They should be active in the profession and ideally should also be active in the IIA. Council members must support the aims and objectives of the IIA.

Composition of Council

The Council is comprised of a maximum of 15 directors. There may be up to four categories of director at any one time:

  • Nine elected directors - elected by the voting members of the IIA. Elections are held each year, with one third of the Directors standing down in each year. Elected Directors must be voting IIA members.
  • The chief executive, who is a director by right of office.
  • Up to five directors at Large - voting IIA members, nominated by the Council and elected by the membership at the AGM.
  • Up to three co-opted directors - appointed by decision of the Council and need not be members of the IIA.

The sectors represented by Council should reflect the composition of the membership. The current directors are from the following sectors: 

  • Banking  2
  • Industry and commerce  3
  • Financial services  2
  • Insurance  1
  • Central government  2
  • Voluntary sector  1
  • Consultancy  2

Elections to Council

The nine elected Directors of Council are all voting members of the IIA. They are nominated and elected by voting IIA members.

The Council includes up to five Directors at large and up to three Co-opted Directors. Directors at Large are voting IIA members nominated by Council and elected by members at the AGM; Co-opted Directors are appointed by the Council and need not be IIA members.

The President, Deputy President and Chair of the Audit Committee are nominated from the existing Directors by the Council.