CIA eligibility criteria

Can you register for the CIA?

If you do not have an undergraduate degree you can still take the CIA, provided you meet ONE of the following criteria:

  1. Three or more A-levels or equivalent (plus two years' internal audit experience)
  2. The ACCA Qualification
  3. Four years' experience in internal audit (plus secondary education)

IIA Global will need to see proof of your education when you enrol, for example copies of your A-level or GCSE certificates/results. If you are unable to provide this evidence then you will not be able to enrol.

Before you can be awarded the CIA designation, you must also have some experience of working in internal audit or a related role. You must hold one of the following:

  1. A degree and two years' experience
  2. A-levels or equivalent and five years' experience
  3. Seven years' experience (plus secondary education)

Read the full eligibility requirements from IIA Global 

Back to Certified Internal Auditor