AuditBoard Live Webinar banner advert Diligent One Platform World tour ad April 2024 TeamMate ESG advertising banner 2023

Special Award

The Special Award allows the Institute to recognise volunteers and others who have contributed to the profession or the institute. It is one of the ways that we say thank you to those who generously give their time, energy and skills to the work of the institute.

Award criteria

The nominee must:

  • be a current voting Institute member
  • have been active within the Chartered IIA on a project or committee at local, regional or national level for a minimum of three years
  • be a capable volunteer, displaying skills that have been of value to the Institute over the year
  • be recognised by their peers as a leading advocate for the profession of internal auditing and as an outstanding contributor to the Institute.

How to make a nomination

To nominate a candidate for the Special Award, please send written nomination outlining how your candidate meets the criteria, the roles they have held within their region and their length of service. The nomination should include specific examples of the contribution they have made.

Please email your nomination to by no later than Friday 15 October.

Previous recipients

2019/2020 - David Mitchell CMIIA
2018/2019 - John Thomasson FIIA
2017/2018 - Lee Elliot Cartwright CMIIA
2016/2017 - Mohamed Khan CMIIA and Lisa Griffiths CMIIA
2015/2016 - Pamela McDonald PIIA
2014/2015 - Teri Morgan CMIIA
2013/2014 - Nuala Comerford PIIA
2012/2013 - Helen Higgs CMIIA
2011/2012 - Jim Thomson CFIIA
2010/2011 - Keith Labbett FIIA
2009/2010 - Aidan Allcock CMIIA
2008/2009 - Vicky Kubitscheck CFIIA
2007/2008 - Robert Beattie CMIIA
2006/2007 - Sean O'Broin CMIIA