AuditBoard Live Webinar banner advert Diligent One Platform World tour ad April 2024 TeamMate ESG advertising banner 2023

Institute's CEO appointed to Government’s Regulatory Policy Committee

10 May 2012

The Institute's Chief Executive, Dr Ian Peters, has been appointed to the Regulatory Policy Committee (RPC). 

Dr Peters is one of seven business figures to be appointed to the new board. He was also a member of the new Committee's predecessor, which was originally formed two years as an ad-hoc committee.  The Government has now formalised the Committee by reconstituting it as an advisory non-departmental public body (NDPB) sponsored by the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

Michael Gibbons will be Chairman of the Committee following an open competition.  Other members of the Committee will include Alexander Ehmann, Jeremy Mayhew, Professor David Parker, Martin Traynor, Sarah Veale and Ken Warwick. 

Dr Peters, commented: "I am delighted to be serving on the new formalised Regulatory Policy Committee. The RPC has achieved a great deal since its inception and is now in an excellent position to carry on that work, helping to make a clearer, better regulatory framework for the UK."

"Whilst not directly connected, there are parallels between the work of the RPC and the Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors, which  is keen to see that the regulation of businesses in the UK is proportionate to the risks faced by businesses, their customers and other stakeholders."

Business and Enterprise Minister Mark Prisk said: "Good evidence behind Government policy making is essential, especially when we're trying to change the culture of Whitehall. The RPC is a vital part of our reducing regulation agenda, and the success of the One in, One out rule, which is why we've decided to put it on a formal institutional basis."