AuditBoard Live Webinar banner advert Diligent One Platform World tour ad April 2024 TeamMate ESG advertising banner 2023

Honorary fellows

The Chartered IIA awards honorary fellowship to people of influence who have contributed either directly or indirectly to the profession of internal auditing.

Richard ChambersRichard Chambers

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2022

The award was made in recognition of Richard’s public acknowledgement of the value of internal audit. This has been demonstrated across many years of dedication to the profession, initially as a practitioner, then as CEO and President of IIA Global.  More recently Richard’s support for the Chartered IIA UK and Ireland in relation to the challenges faced during and post the pandemic. Richard’s thought-provoking Blogs and presentations continue to challenge and shape internal auditors thinking.

Richard currently partners with AuditBoard on internal audit thought leadership, customer advisory and industry research programs dedicated to advancing the practice of internal audit through education and digital transformation. 

Roger MarshallRoger Marshall

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2014

Roger Marshall chaired the independent committee which produced our financial services code. He has been an independent non-executive director of Old Mutual since August 2010. He chairs the group audit committee and is also a member of the board risk and remuneration committees.

Roger was formerly an audit partner in PwC, where he led the audit of a number of major groups, including Zurich Financial Services and Lloyds TSB.

He is currently chairman of the Accounting Council, a director of the Financial Reporting Council and a non-executive director of Genworth Financial’s European insurance companies. 

Carol SergeantCarol Sergeant

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2014

Carol Sergeant was a member of the independent committee which produced our financial services code. Carol chairs the whistleblowing charity, Public Concern at Work and Chair of the audit committee of Danske Bank.

She was previously chief risk officer of Lloyds Banking Group and has been a managing director  for risk and regulatory processes for what was then known as the Financial Standards Authority.

Carol began her career at the Bank of England, working in financial markets, monetary policy, and regulation. Her last position was as head of the major UK banks supervision department. 

Brendan NelsonBrendan Nelson

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2014

Brendan Nelson was a member of the independent committee which produced our financial services code. Currently, he is an independent non-executive director and Chair of the audit committees of BP plc and The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc.

Brendan was made a partner of KPMG in 1984 and served as a member of the UK board of KPMG from 2000 to 2006, subsequently being appointed vice chairman until his retirement in 2010. At KPMG International he held a number of senior positions including global chairman, banking and global chairman, financial services.

He served for six years as a member of the Financial Services Practitioner Panel and in 2013 was the president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. He is also a member of the Financial Reporting Council monitoring committee.

Mervyn KingMervyn King

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2010

Mervyn King is chair of the International Integrated Reporting Council, chair emeritus of the Global Reporting Initiative and a member of the private sector advisory group to the World Bank on corporate governance.

Mervyn chaired the United Nations committee on governance and oversight and was president of the Advertising Standards Authority for 15 years.

He also chaired the King committee on corporate governance in South Africa, which published three reports on corporate governance, including the role of internal audit. 


Lord SmithLord Robert Smith of Kelvin

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2010

Lord Smith is chair of Green Investment Bank, Alliance Trust, IMI and Forth Ports. In 2014 he chaired the Organising Committee for Glasgow 2014 (Commonwealth Games) and the Smith Commission, overseeing the process of devolving more powers to Scotland.

Robert led the group that produced the Smith guidance in 2003, which helps boards make suitable arrangements for their audit committees, and assists directors serving on audit committees in carrying out their roles.

A chartered accountant and former president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland, Robert was knighted in 1999, appointed to the House of Lords as an independent cross-bench peer in 2008, and appointed Knight of the Thistle in 2013. 

Ian KennedyProfessor Sir Ian Kennedy

Awarded honorary fellowship in 2009

Ian Kennedy has been chair of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority since 2009. He is also emeritus professor of health law, ethics and policy at University College of London and visiting professor at the London School of Economics.

Ian is best known as the chairman of the public enquiry into children's heart surgery at the Bristol Royal Infirmary (1998–2001). This enquiry contributed to the establishment of the Healthcare Commission, which he chaired from its creation in 2004 until its abolition in 2009.